Cross-recognition scheme for mediators formally launched by Alliance of Organisations for Mediation Standards (AMS)

A scheme to recognise the credentials of mediators across borders has been formally launched by the Alliance of Organisations for Mediation Standards (AMS). The arrangement allows a specific tier of accredited mediators from each member organisation to apply directly for an equivalent tier of accreditation with another member organisation. AMS is a collaboration between five mediation bodies based in France, Hong Kong SAR, Malaysia, Portugal and Singapore respectively. 

“Our accredited mediators who take this opportunity to be cross-recognised potentially create avenues for themselves to co-mediate disputes with mediators under different Alliance members.  In the process, mediation as a professional dispute resolution mechanism will be promoted, and mediation service standards will be practised and upheld.” – Joint statement by Alliance members

As a member of the Alliance, SIMI is pleased to announce that our accredited mediators can now apply to any or all of the other four member organisations of the Alliance to have their credentials recognised. The other four members of the Alliance include: 
  • The Asia Mediation Centre (AMC)
  • Instituto de Certificação e Formação de Mediadores Lusófonos (ICFML)
  • The International Dispute Resolution and Risk Management Institute (IDRRMI)
  • Institut Français de Certification des Médiateurs (IFCM)

Formed in April 2021, these five like-minded bodies seek to uphold high standards in the provision of mediation services and promote the use of co-mediation in partnership with mediators in different centres. A primary vehicle to achieve this is through establishing a cross-recognition arrangement between member bodies.

The respective tiers allowing for corresponding cross recognition amongst AMS members are as follows:

  • AMC: AMC Accredited Mediator
  • ICFML: ICFML Mediador Certificado Avançado Level 2
  • IDRRMI: International Accredited Professional Mediator (IAPM)
  • IFCM: IFCM Qualified Mediator
  • SIMI: SIMI Accredited Mediator Level 2

AMS also invites other mediation organisations to join the alliance to further enhance the development of the global mediation industry.

If you are interested in applying for cross-recognition under this scheme, please refer to the Information Sheet for the application process.

Please contact us at if you have any queries.

20 March 2023

Documents for download: